Institute of Social Medicine, Epidemiology and Health Economics 

Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu

Charité epidemiologist Stefan Willich receives Harvard award

Social medicine physician and epidemiologist Stefan Willich received the Alumni Award of Merit from the Harvard University T.H. Chan School of Public Health on September 27. This is the first time that this highest honor for alumni of the institution has gone to a German scientist.

The review panel particularly recognized Willich's contributions to establishing one of the world's leading epidemiological centers at Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, as well as his publications on current public health issues during the COVID-19 pandemic.

"Prof. Dr. Stefan Willich is an internist, epidemiologist, musician and one of the best-known social medicine and public health experts in Germany. Since 1995, he has been director of the Institute of Social Medicine, Epidemiology and Health Economics, which has become one of the most important epidemiological research centers in the world during his tenure. The Charité institute translates many of his preventive medicine research findings into clinical practice. The preventive outpatient clinic established by Willich at Charité has become a model throughout Europe," stated the Harvard University T.H. Chan School of Public Health review panel.

A committed advocate of Integrative Medicine, Willich's research has also investigated the effectiveness of traditional and complementary health practices and promoted their use in addition to conventional medical therapy. He was the founding president of the European Society for Integrative Medicine (ESIM), the first editor of the European Journal of Integrative Medicine, and the initiator of the first World Congress on Integrative Medicine and Health.

Willich has authored or co-authored more than 500 peer-reviewed publications and dozens of books and monographs. He is Co-Principal Investigator of the NAKO Health Study, one of the largest epidemiological studies of chronic disease etiology. He is a health policy advisor as well as a presence in the German media, most recently commenting on the sociomedical and epidemiological issues surrounding COVID-19.

The award also recognizes Willich's humanitarian efforts. An accomplished violinist, he founded and conducts the World Doctors Orchestra, an international group of physicians and musicians. Since its founding in 2008, the orchestra has grown to more than 1,500 members worldwide and performs several times a year to support medical aid projects.

Contact:
PD Dr. med. Anne Berghöfer
+49 30 450 529 034; E-Mail: anne.berghoefer@charite.de


The Institute of Social Medicine, Epidemiology and Health Economics of the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin represents the clinical-theoretical field of social medicine with its disciplines epidemiology, demography, prevention and health economics at the medical faculty Charité.

We are in the canon of the Charité institutions and as the largest institute in the CharitéCentrum 1 for human and health sciences with a team of about 50 employees and additional visiting scientists, student employees and doctoral students in research and teaching as well as in health care.

Our research focuses on epidemiology and prevention, health economics and health systems research, global health sciences and complementary and integrative medicine.

In the various occupational groups, which work together in an interdisciplinary manner within the teams, networking with clinical and basic sciences, clinics and the humanities and social sciences is particularly reflected. Physicians, psychologists, health economists, statisticians, data managers, study nurses and secretariats work together on the same projects and benefit each other from their different education and scientific socialization.

For our research projects, we solicit over € 1 million in funding annually. Our research results are published in international journals.

Institut für Sozialmedizin, Epidemiologie und Gesundheitsökonomie 

Metanavigation:

Hier finden Sie den Zugang zur Notfallseite, Kontaktinformationen, Barrierefreiheits-Einstellungen, die Sprachwahl und die Suchfunktion.

Navigation öffnen

Charité-Epidemiologe Stefan Willich erhält Harvard Auszeichnung

Der Sozialmediziner und Epidemiologe Stefan Willich hat am 27. September den Alumni Award of Merit der Harvard University T.H. Chan School of Public Health erhalten. Diese höchste Auszeichnung für ehemalige Absolventen der Institution geht damit erstmals an einen deutschen Wissenschaftler.

Das Gutachtergremium würdigte insbesondere Willichs Verdienste um den Aufbau eines der weltweit führenden epidemiologischen Zentren an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin sowie seine Veröffentlichungen zu aktuellen Public Health-Fragen während der COVID-19-Pandemie.

„Prof. Dr. Stefan Willich ist Internist, Epidemiologe, Musiker und einer der bekanntesten Sozialmediziner und Public Health-Experten in Deutschland. Seit 1995 ist er Direktor des Instituts für Sozialmedizin, Epidemiologie und Gesundheitsökonomie, das sich in seiner Amtszeit zu einem der bedeutendsten epidemiologischen Forschungszentren der Welt entwickelt hat. Das Charité Institut setzt viele seiner präventivmedizinischen Forschungsergebnisse in die klinische Praxis um. Die von Willich an der Charité etablierte Präventionsambulanz ist europaweit zum Vorbild geworden“ erklärte das Gutachtergremium der Harvard University T.H. Chan School of Public Health.

Als engagierter Fürsprecher der Integrativen Medizin hat Willich mit seinen Forschungsarbeiten auch die Wirksamkeit traditioneller und komplementärer Gesundheitspraktiken untersucht und deren Einsatz zusätzlich zur schulmedizinischen Therapie gefördert. Er war Gründungspräsident der Europäischen Gesellschaft für Integrative Medizin (ESIM), erster Herausgeber des European Journal of Integrative Medicine und Initiator des ersten Weltkongresses für Integrative Medizin und Gesundheit.

Willich ist Verfasser oder Mitautor von mehr als 500 begutachteten Publikationen und Dutzenden von Büchern und Monographien. Er ist Co-Principal Investigator der NAKO Gesundheitsstudie, einer der größten epidemiologischen Studien zur Ätiologie chronischer Krankheiten. Er ist gesundheitspolitischer Berater sowie in deutschen Medien präsent, zuletzt kommentierte er die sozialmedizinischen und epidemiologischen Fragen rund um COVID-19.

Die Auszeichnung würdigt auch Willichs humanitäres Engagement. Als versierter Violinist gründete und dirigiert er das World Doctors Orchestra, eine internationale Gruppe von Ärzten und Musikern. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 2008 ist das Orchester auf mehr als 1.500 Mitglieder weltweit angewachsen und tritt mehrmals im Jahr auf, um medizinische Hilfsprojekte zu unterstützen.

Kontakt:
PD Dr. med. Anne Berghöfer
+49 30 450 529 034; E-Mail: anne.berghoefer@charite.de


Institut für Sozialmedizin, Epidemiologie und Gesundheitsökonomie der Charité — Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Das Institut für Sozialmedizin, Epidemiologie und Gesundheitsökonomie der Charité — Universitätsmedizin Berlin vertritt das klinisch-theoretische Fach der Sozialmedizin mit seinen Disziplinen Epidemiologie, Demografie, Prävention und Gesundheitsökonomie an der medizinischen Fakultät Charité.

Wir sind im Kanon der Charité Einrichtungen und als größtes Institut im CharitéCentrum 1 für Human- und Gesundheitswissenschaften mit einem Team von ca. 50 Mitarbeitenden und zusätzlichen Gastwissenschaftlern, studentischen Mitarbeitenden und Doktoranden in Forschung und Lehre sowie in der Krankenversorgung tätig.

Der Schwerpunkt unserer Forschungstätigkeit liegt in der Epidemiologie und Prävention, Gesundheitsökonomie und Gesundheitssystemforschung, den Globalen Gesundheitswissenschaften sowie der komplementären und integrativen Medizin. 

In den verschiedenen Berufsgruppen, die interdisziplinär in den Teams zusammenarbeiten, spiegelt sich die Vernetzung mit klinischen und Grundlagenwissenschaften, Kliniken und Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften besonders wider. Ärzte und Ärztinnen, Psychologen und Psychologinnen, Gesundheitsökonomen und -ökonominnen, Statistikerinnen, Datenmanager und -managerinnen, Study-
Nurses und Sekretariate arbeiten gemeinsam an denselben Projekten und profitieren gegenseitig von ihrer unterschiedlichen Ausbildung und wissenschaftlichen Sozialisation.

Für unsere Forschungsprojekte werben wir über 1 Mio. Euro Fördermittel jährlich ein. Unsere Forschungsergebnisse werden in internationalen Zeitschriften publiziert.